Twin Tornado Sighting on All-Region Soccer Teams

BRISTOL, Tenn. – The 2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Soccer Teams were released on Tuesday afternoon. Two King College Soccer players found their way on the Southeast Region First Team after successful seasons were recognized by their peers in the college athletic world.

Winspear became King College's leading goal scorer in program history this season and ended his senior campaign with a league-leading 15 goals in 17 games overall. In eight October matches, the Yarm, England native scored eight goals and tallied two assists for 17 points.

On the year he totaled 33 points, good for third in the league and 13th in the country while taking the fifth most shots (63) in Conference Carolinas. Winspear ranked eighth in the nation in goals per game (0.94) and tenth in both points per game (2.06) and total goals. He also added three assists, all in league play.

Twice this season, and in consecutive games, Winspear recorded a hat trick when he scored a trio of goal against Lees-McRae (Sept. 14) and Mount Olive (Sept. 17). He ended the second half of the season with a six-game goal scoring streak between Oct. 1 and Oct. 19 and an eight-match point scoring streak.

Morgan Shelton posted a pair of multiple-goal games in October, doing so in consecutive games against Barton College (Oct. 22) and Queens (N.C.) on Oct. 25 where she scored the game-winning goal. In nine games, she scored eight goals and recorded three assists for 19 points.

The Chattanooga, Tenn. native helped her team to an 8-8-1 overall record, 7-4-1 in conference play. She scored 14 goals in 15 games overall and added a team-high five assists to account for 33 points. Shelton's 1.93 points per game ranked her 21st in the country and she finished 22nd in the nation in goals per game (0.786). She was a key part of a total team turnaround after the Lady Tornado started the season 0-3-0 in conference play, leading the team to a 7-1-1 league record to finish the season with a fifth overall seed in the conference tournament.

Both Shelton and Winspear were named to the All-Conference Carolinas First Team on Nov. 4.

The Daktronics NCAA Division II all-Southeast Region Teams are voted on by the sports information directors of the Southeast Region. The region is comprised of the Conference Carolinas, the Peach Belt Conference, and the South Atlantic Conference.

Members of the first team are now eligible for Daktronics NCAA Division II All-America honors.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition.


2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Men's Soccer Team


Pos.    Name                               Yr.                School

F          Lasse Sohrweide*             Sr.                  Anderson (S.C.)

F          Erik Pajunk                       So.                 Barton

F          Carlos Recinos                  Jr.                   Coker

F          Tom Winspear*                 Sr.                  King

MF      Johan Bergfeld                  Sr.                  Flagler

MF      Joseph Toby                      Jr.                   Flagler

MF      Pol Berenguer                   Sr.                  Flagler

MF      Janny Rivera                     Sr.                  Clayton State

D         Kevin Butler                     Sr.                  Anderson (S.C.)

D         Kevin Keenan                   So.                 Flagler

D         Frenando Bedoya             Fr.                  Coker

D         Chris Klute                        So.                 Clayton State

GK      James Sweeney                 Jr.                   Coker

Region Player of the Year: Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson University (S.C.)



Pos.    Name                               Yr.                School

F          Mario Pinto                       Fr.                  Lincoln Memorial

F          Sam Miles                         Fr.                  UNC Pembroke

F          Mack Hough                     Sr.                  Flagler

F          James Galvani                   So.                 Lees-McRae

MF      Mark Smith                       Sr.                  Anderson (S.C.)

MF      James Smith                      Fr.                  Lees-McRae

MF      Larry Mahon                     So.                 Limestone

MF      Shu Ogawa                       Jr.                   Anderson (S.C.)

D         Troy Chavez                      Sr.                  Mars Hill

D         Luke Duffy*                     Sr.                  Lees-McRae

D         Matias Rubio                     Fr.                  Tusculum

D         Chinedu Arinze                 Jr.                   USC Aiken

GK      Zac Scott                           Jr.                   Mars Hill

*- indicates was a member of the 2010 Daktronics All-Southeast Region Team


2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Women's Soccer Team


Pos.    Name                               Yr.                School

F          Ashley Alderin-Fleagle    Sr.    Limestone College

F          Morgan Shelton             Sr.             King College

F          Tramicka James*            Jr.                 Tusculum College

F          Kristina Pascutti             Jr.                 Armstrong Atlantic State University

M         Kelly Adams                    Sr.                Wingate University

M         Stephanie Lowery*        Sr.                Columbus State University

M         Carley Griffin                  Jr.                 Lenoir-Rhyne University

M         Morgan Mitchell*            Jr.                 Armstrong Atlantic State University

D         Catherine Hauck*          Sr.                Lenoir-Rhyne University

D         Kansas Bayly                 So.               Columbus State University

D         Kelli Bahr*                       Sr.                Armstrong Atlantic State University

D         Mary Dorn                       Sr.                Lees-McRae College

GK      Britney Bennett*             So.               UNC Pembroke

Region Player of the Year: Catherine Hauck, Lenoir-Rhyne University



Pos.    Name                               Yr.                School

F          Laura Linehan               Sr.                Lenoir-Rhyne University

F          Jade Montgomery          Fr.                Wingate University

F          Lindsey Stanley             Sr.                Mount Olive College

F          Meagan Thornton          Fr.                Lees-McRae College

M         MaryBeth Sullivan*       So.               Lees-McRae College

M         Mariel Mena                    Sr.                Lenoir-Rhyne University

M         Alyssa Wombell             Sr.                Pfeiffer University

M         Leanne Reid                   Sr.                Lincoln Memorial University

D         Fanny Forsman             Jr.                 UNC Pembroke

D         Casey King                     Sr.                Wingate University

D         Jessica Schob                Sr.                Lenoir-Rhyne University

D         Kelly Moldenhauer*      Jr.                 Wingate University

GK      Mary Mancin                   Jr.                 Columbus State University

*- indicates was a member of the 2010 Daktronics All-Southeast Region Team