Eight Named to Conference Carolinas All-Academic Team

Eight Named to Conference Carolinas All-Academic Team

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Conference Carolinas is proud to announce the 2011-2012 Basketball Academic All-Conference award winners.  League member institutions stress the role of "Academics and Athletics Working Together" and each sport’s Academic All-Conference award winners exemplify this continued league-wide commitment.

King College had eight representatives from both the men’s and women’s teams represent the College on this year’s All-Conference Academic team. King holds the most individual student-athletes on the combined list that met the criteria of the award. North Greenville was next in line with six student-athletes named to the team.

The 2011-2012 Conference Carolinas Basketball Academic All-Conference representatives have been awarded to junior and senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.

Each year the Academic All-Conference Team is released while closing out each regular season before starting the tournament championships. The women will begin tournament play Monday, February 27 with quarterfinal games being played at the higher seeded team. The men immediately follow starting tournament play on Tuesday, February 28 with all games being played at the higher seeded team as well. The Conference Champions will be determined Saturday for the women and Sunday for the men. 

Keep track of the Conference Carolinas Basketball Tournament action on the league tournament website at: http://www.conferencecarolinas.com/Championships/2011-12/2011-12BsktblChampionshipsTrnyPage

Men’s Basketball Academic All-Conference Team

Matthew Beerse, Belmont Abbey College

Jonathon Gardner, Coker College

Edward Piccinini, King College

Tyler Crowder, King College

Daniel Sepokas, Lees-McRae College 

Jason Wray, North Greenville College

Luke Lattimer, North Greenville College

David Cheek, Queens University of Charlotte

Sean Eads, Queens University of Charlotte


Women’s Basketball Academic All-Conference Team

Janae Jackson, Barton College

Mariah White, Barton College

Alyx Ingram, Belmont Abbey College

Paula Regalado, Belmont Abbey College

Porsha Morgan, Erskine College

Brittany Fields, King College

Brittany Watson, King College

Brooke Johnson, King College

Kalen Collins, King College

Jana Gross, King College

Mikki Oliver, King College

Candace Flowers, Lees-McRae College

Sophie Witte, Lees-McRae College

Kaileigh West, Limestone College

Lauren Pace, Limestone College

Tia Williams, Limestone College

Whitney Lee, Limestone College

Ashleigh Edwards, North Greenville University

Karoline Stache, North Greenville University

Landrie Fox, North Greenville University

Savannah Newkirk, North Greenville University

Brittany Cox, Pfeiffer University

Samantha Craven, Pfeiffer University