King Athletics Host Student-Athlete Awards Banquet

King Athletics Host Student-Athlete Awards Banquet

BRISTOL, Tenn. – The King College Athletic Department hosted an end-of-the-year awards banquet for the student-athletes of its 24 varsity sports, faculty, and staff on Tuesday night. Over 400 people were in attendance to honor each team’s accomplishments through the season, including the naming of the 2011-12 Male and Female Scholar-Athlete and Student-Athlete of the Year awards.

Photo gallery

Highlighting the night, the King Athletic staff voted on the 2011-12 Student-Athlete of the year. Frank Morgan of Men’s Wrestling was named the Male Student-Athlete of the Year while Women’s Cross Country’s Danielle Alfano was named Female Student-Athlete of the Year.

Morgan, a native of Maynardville, Tenn., was named one of the College’s first NCAA Division II All-Americans after finishing fifth in the 197-pound division at the Division II National Tournament in March. The senior was an integral part of the team’s 9-3 overall dual meet record this season and went 18-4 overall this season. He entered Nationals on an eight-match win streak before going 3-2 and placed fifth overall. The team placed fifth at the Super Region II Tournament and held a national ranking for a majority of the season, topping out at No. 11 in the country.

Danielle Alfano’s list of achievements this season was remarkable to say the least. She held high marks in the classroom and low times on the track throughout the season. Alfano, a native of Chattanooga, Tenn., helped her team to a regional ranking that was as high as second and a third place finish in the Conference Carolinas Cross Country Championships. She was named to the All-Conference, All-Region, and Academic All-Conference Teams in addition to being named the Conference Carolinas Fall Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Between the Covered Bridge Invitational (Sept. 2) to the Conference Carolinas Championship (Oct. 22), she improved her 5k time by nearly three minutes, setting a new personal record at the league championships and placing 13th. At the NCAA Division II Southeast Regional Championship, she finished inside the top-25 with a time of 23:13.3. During indoor track and field season, she broke the school record in the one-mile run and kept breaking her own record the next three weeks thereafter.

Tornado Athletics also announced the Male and Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Baseball’s Cody Snyder (Bluff City, Tenn./Tennessee High) was named on the men’s side, while Brooke Johnson (Roan Mountain, Tenn.) was named on the women’s side.

Each team was given the opportunity to speak briefly on the successes of their respective seasons while handing out Team MVP and other awards during the ceremony. A complete list of each team’s named MVP and award winners is below. The banquet was held in the MacClellan Hall Dining Center where the room was filled to capacity with over 400 people in attendance to support the student-athletes that comprise the 24 varsity Tornado athletic teams.

Men’s Basketball

Men’s Tennis



MVP - Jose Avila

To be announced after season

Women’s Basketball

Women’s Tennis

Men’s Wrestling

MVP – Jana Gross
Defensive POY - Tia Keitt

MVP - Eden Sherrod

MVP – Frank Morgan


Men’s Volleyball

Women’s Wrestling


MVP – James Friddle
Tornado Award – Jeremy Funk
Most Improved – Mason Casner

MVP – Emily Martin


Women’s Volleyball

Men’s Cross Country

To be announced after season

co-MVP – Ashley Pittman and
              Sarah Van Goethem

MVP – Spencer Frantom

Men’s Soccer

Women’s Soccer

Women’s Cross Country

MVP – Tom Winspear

MVP – Morgan Shelton

MVP – Kendra Sokol

Men’s Track & Field

Women’s Track & Field

Men’s Golf

MVP – Reggie Warren

MVP – Maegan Henry

MVP – Adrian Kibsey

Men’s Swimming & Diving

Women’s Swimming & Diving

Women’s Golf

MVP – Wayne Oliver

MVP – Kelsey Wiese

MVP – Esther Gandarias