Winspear, Shelton Among Tornado Awarded All-Conference Honors

Winspear, Shelton Among Tornado Awarded  All-Conference Honors
BRISTOL, Tenn. – Conference Carolinas announced its 2011 All-Conference teams today as a part of the Soccer Championship Tournament week. Morgan Shelton and Tom Winspear were named to their respective All-Conference First Teams while women's soccer also had two players represented on the Third Team.

Winspear, who became King College's leading goal scorer in program history this season, ended his senior campaign with a league-leading 15 goals in 17 games overall. The Yarm, England native tallied 33 points, good for third in the league and 13th in the country while taking the fifth most shots (63) in Conference Carolinas. Winspear ranked eighth in the nation in goals per game (0.94) and tenth in both points per game (2.06) and total goals. He also added three assists, all in league play.

Eleven of Winspear's 15 goals were scored against conference opponents. Twice this season, and in consecutive games, Winspear recorded a hat trick when he scored a trio of goal against Lees-McRae (Sept. 14) and Mount Olive (Sept. 17). He ended the second half of the season with a six-game goal scoring streak between Oct. 1 and Oct. 19 and an eight-match point scoring streak.

Morgan Shelton was also named to the Women's Soccer All-Conference First Team after helping her team to an 8-8-1 overall record, 7-4-1 in conference play. She scored 14 goals in 15 games overall and added a team-high five assists to account for 33 points. Shelton's 1.93 points per game ranked her 21st in the country and she finished 22nd in the nation in goals per game (0.786).

In league play, Shelton scored 10 of her14 total goals and registered all five of her assists on the season. She scored multiple goals four times during the season, twice in her last four games. In the Chattanooga, Tenn. native's final seven matches, she scored seven goals and had one assist and five goals in her last four games. Shelton was a key part of a total team turnaround after the Lady Tornado started the season 0-3-0 in conference play, leading the team to a 7-1-1 league record to finish the season with a fifth overall seed in the conference tournament.

Forward Heidi Steger (Chattanooga, Tenn.) and Goaltender Abbey Kitts were also added to the All-Conference teams, each being placed on the Third Team after successful seasons.

Steger notched one goal and three assists and played fantastic defense from her forward spot on the field. She finished with five points on the season, all in league play and all in the final four games of the season. Against Converse, the senior recorded a pair of assists. She scored her lone goal of the season in a 4-1 win over Barton College on Oct. 22.

Kitts, a native of Tazewell, Va., played well between the posts to end the year with an 8-6-1 overall record.  She allowed 23 goals and made 84 saves to account for a 1.50 goals against average for the year. Kitts recorded five shutouts in her junior campaign, four coming in league play.

2011 Conference Carolinas Soccer Awards
Women's Soccer Player of the Year
Ashley Alderin-Fleagle, Limestone

Women's Soccer Freshman of the Year
Meagan Thornton, Lees-McRae

Women's Soccer Coach of the Year
Cally Morrill, Lees-McRae

Women's All-Conference 1st-Team
Ashley Alderin-Fleagle, Limestone -Forward
Morgan Shelton, King -Forward
Marybeth Sullivan, Lees-McRae –Forward
Lauren Vawter, Queens -Midfielder
Nicole Voets, Belmont Abbey -Midfielder
Brooke Santerre, Lees-McRae -Midfielder
Alyssa Wombwell, Pfeiffer –Midfielder
Mary Dorn, Lees-McRae -Defender
Carly Kensinger, Belmont Abbey -Defender
Lauren Lanham, Limestone -Defender
Lyndsey McIntyre, Mount Olive -Goalkeeper

Women's All-Conference 2nd-Team
Lindsey Stanley, Mount Olive -Forward
Meagan Thornton, Lees-McRae -Forward
Ananda Gebreyesus, Belmont Abbey -Forward
Vickie Rich, Lees-McRae –Forward
Vanessa Jarrett, Limestone -Midfielder
Silvia Vazquez, Belmont Abbey -Midfielder
Casey Craft, Erskine –Midfielder
Hilary Parkin, Converse -Defender
Alana Ryczek, Belmont Abbey -Defender
Holli Schwartz, Limestone –Defender
Kaitlyn Briggs, Lees-McRae -Goalkeeper

Women's All-Conference 3rd-Team
Gabriella Reid, Limestone -Forward
Kristen Wright, Queens -Forward
Rebecca Mateo, Belmont Abbey –Forward
Emily Jones, Lees-McRae -Midfielder
Becky Sanzsole, Mount Olive -Midfielder
Heidi Steger, King –Midfielder
Patrice Clarke, Mount Olive -Defender
Kariel Parian, Queens -Defender
Sarah Rountree, Coker -Defender
Mary Knepp, Mount Olive –Defender
Abbey Kitts, King - Goalkeeper

Women's Soccer Eastern Division Regular Season Champions
Mount Olive College

Women's Soccer Western Division Regular Season Champions
Lees-McRae College

Men's Soccer Player of the Year
Carlos Recinos, Coker

Men's Soccer Freshman of the Year
Jorge Mackenna, Limestone

Men's Soccer Coach of the Year
Paul Leese, Coker

Men's All-Conference 1st-Team
Carlos Recinos, Coker -Forward
Erik Pajunk, Barton -Forward
Tom Winspear, King -Forward
James Galvani, Lees-McRae –Forward
Jack Kimber, Erskine -Midfielder
Larry Mahon, Limestone -Midfielder
Rommel Fondin, Coker –Midfielder
Luke Duffy, Lees-McRae -Defender
Fernando Bedoya, Coker -Defender
Atticus Lum, Coker –Defender
James Sweeney, Coker -Goalkeeper

Men's All-Conference 2nd-Team
Andrew Settlemire, Erskine -Forward
Jorge Mackenna, Limestone -Forward
Jack Bailey, Limestone –Forward
Jeremy Chambers, Queens -Midfielder
James Smith, Lees-McRae -Midfielder
Stephen Scrivens, Coker -Midfielder
Dante De Luca, Barton –Midfielder
Luke Staats, Lees-McRae -Defender
Jonathan Rutter, Erskine -Defender
James Burke, Limestone –Defender
Brian Riesenberg, Barton -Goalkeeper

Men's All-Conference 3rd-Team
Felipe Netto, Queens -Forward
Vieux Sarr, Mount Olive -Forward
Danilo Matos, Barton –Forward
Tom McCready, Limestone -Midfielder
Bryce Ziada, Limestone -Midfielder
Fahret Salihovic, Pfeiffer –Midfielder
Jose Penaloza, Belmont Abbey -Defender
Luke Vernon, Pfeiffer -Defender
Mark Leslie, Limestone -Defender
Matthew Gwilt, Queens –Defender
Thomas Rusling, Lees-McRae -Goalkeeper

Men's Soccer Eastern Division Regular Season Champions
Coker College

Western Division Regular Season Champions
Lees-McRae College