Tornado tennis teams earn ITA Scholar awards

Tornado tennis teams earn ITA Scholar awards

ITA Men's Scholar-Athletes and Teams

ITA Women's Scholar-Athletes and Teams

BRISTOL, Tenn. – The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced their academic awards for the 2016-17 season, both the King University men's and women's tennis team earned ITA All-Academic Team. Two individuals from the women's team and seven from the men's team were selected ITA Scholar-Athletes.

The Tornado women earn ITA All-Academic Team recognition for the fifth time in the last six years. King earned the distinction three straight years from 2012-14 and 2015-17. This year, Marianne Hull and Catherine Vezey both earned the ITA Scholar-Athlete award.

On the men's side, King earned ITA All-Academic honors for the first time since 2014 as King earned the award three straight years from 2012-14. Arturo Alfaro, Alejandro Feliciano, Ankith Madasani, Moritz Poswiat, Charles Jabaley, Lennard Neumann, and Lenny Keswani all earned the ITA Scholar-Athlete award.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2016 and spring 2017).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Tornado sweep Milligan 9-0
October 14, 2016 Tornado sweep Milligan 9-0