Men's Volleyball


Conference Carolinas Player and Coach of the Year honors for King

HIGH POINT, N.C. - King College collected three All-Conference Carolinas Men's Volleyball squad places which included the league's player and coach of the year winners.

Joel Salva (Lake Mary, Fla.) was the lone setter on the first team to go along with his Conference Carolinas Player of the Year award win. Salva provided 9.2 assists per set which ranked third in the league. His 0.33 aces per set was fourth best and he was tops in digs per set category with 2.1. Salva added 0.33 kills per set.

This marks the second straight year for Salva to be on the team as a setter.

Morris Cephas (Richmond, Va.) was the all-conference team's libero with 1.97 digs per conference set. Throughout the season Cephas gave out 10 assists to teammates in conference contests.

James Friddle (Cartersville, Ga.) used a 2.66 kills per set average within conference play to land on the squad. Friddle posted a .214 hitting percentage. He ranked sixth in the kills per set category and was ninth with 0.24 aces per set. Friddle was credited with 1.31 digs per set and 0.69 blocks per set. including eight solo against conference foes.

Ryan Booher was named the Conference Carolinas Men's Volleyball Coach of the Year. Booher help guide King to a second-place finish in the regular season standings which puts the Tornado into Thursday's Conference Carolinas Championship contest at Mount Olive (N.C.) College. King finished conference play at 5-3 and 11-8 overall. The conference record was tied with Lees-McRae (N.C.) College, but King had the tie breaker after the two split the regular-season series thanks to the Tornado's 3-2 win at Mount Olive.

Since Booher took over in the middle of the 2010 season King has posted a 9-3 conference record with a 22-10 overall mark. Only Mount Olive has a better conference record in the same time frame at 10-2, with King winning two of the three meetings.

Conference Carolinas announced the All-Conference Team honors in conjunction with the upcoming Conference Carolinas Championship Men's Volleyball Tournament Thursday.

Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote upon the award winners who represent the best of the best for the conference. As an emerging sport into the league, the Men's Volleyball All-Conference First Team is made up of five position players, a libero, and a setter.  Individual awards include Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, and Player of the Year.

Selected information from Conference Carolinas office.

All-Conference First-Team

Scott Schweihofer, Limestone College- Outside Hitter

Chad Mercado, Lees-McRae College- Opposite Hitter

Angel Dache, Mount Olive College- Outside Hitter

James Friddle, King College- Opposite Hitter

Adam Miracle, Mount Olive College- Outside Hitter

Morris Cephas, King College- Libero

Joel Salva, King College- Setter

Freshman of the Year

Benedikt Schirmers, Mount Olive College- Opposite Hitter

Player of the Year

Joel Salva, King College- Setter

Coach of the Year

Ryan Booher, King College

Regular Season Champion

Mount Olive College