Men's Volleyball


Friddle, Glenn Named to Men’s Volleyball All-Conference Team

Friddle, Glenn Named to Men’s Volleyball All-Conference Team

HIGH POINT, N.C. –Conference Carolinas has announced its 2012 postseason awards, which include two King College Tornado players. James Friddle and Eric Glenn were named to the All-Conference Team, per a release by the league on Friday.

Outside hitter James Friddle was named to the All-Conference Second Team after finishing his senior season as the top offensive weapon for the Tornado. He led the team in kills (252), kills per set (2.93), was second in service aces (19), and hit at a .205 clip for the year. Defensively, the Cartersville, Ga., native was third on the team in digs (167) and total blocks (54). Among his conference peers, Friddle was sixth in kills, eighth in kills per set, and in the top-10 in hit percentage. He completed his King career as the program's all-time leader in kills (818) plus second in service aces (83) and blocks (185).

Middle blocker Eric Glenn played a key role on both the offensive and defensive ends of the floor for King, leading to his placement on the All-Conference Third Team. He finished behind Friddle in many offensive categories this season including kills (206), kills per set (2.37), and service aces (13) but hit at a 35 percent mark on the attack. Even more valuable than his offensive contributions were to the team was his stoutness at the net, finishing tops on the team in all three blocking categories (20-76-96) as well as topping the team in blocks per set (1.10). He was first in the conference in hit percentage and inside the top-10 in all blocking categories including second in solo blocks. The senior from Portsmouth, Va., finished his career the all-time blocks leader in total blocks (224), solo blocks (53), and block assists (171).

Conference Carolinas announces the All-Conference Team honors in conjunction with the upcoming Conference Carolinas Championship Men's Volleyball Tournament.  Pfeiffer University claimed the league regular season title in men's volleyball as conference regular season play concluded this past week. The No. 1 Falcons will host No. 4 Lees-McRae College on one side of the bracket while No. 2 Limestone hosts No. 3 Mount Olive on the other side in semifinal action Sunday, April 15.

Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote upon the award winners who represent the best of the best for the conference.  Each Men's Volleyball All-Conference First and Second Team is made up of five position players, a libero, and a setter.  The Third Team is made-up of the five highest remaining vote getters. Individual awards include Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, and Co-Players of the Year (exact tie).


Co-Players of the Year

Quentin Moore, Pfeiffer University- OH

Scott Warren, Limestone College- RS


Freshman of the Year

Joshua Jones, Lees-McRae College- MB


Coach of the Year

Steve Bintz, Pfeiffer University


Regular Season Champion

Pfeiffer University


All-Conference 1st-Team

Quentin Moore, Pfeiffer - OH

Scott Warren, Limestone - RS

Adam Miracle, Mount Olive - OH

Caleb Brophy, Pfeiffer - OH

Kevin Hart, Limestone - OH

Randy Ramirez, Lees-McRae – S

Efrain Negron, Lees-McRae - L


All-Conference 2nd-Team

John Nunns, Mount Olive - MH

Matt Harpenau, Lees-McRae – MB

John Lucas, Lees-McRae – OH

James Friddle, King – OPP

Jose Ribas, Lees-McRae – OH

David Specian, Pfeiffer – S

Joe Gilliland, Limestone - L


All-Conference 3rd-Team

Jack Tutty, Mount Olive – MB

Derek Daley, Limestone – MH

Eric Glenn, King – MB

Jackson Metichecchia, Mount Olive – S

Mark Hess, Pfeiffer - L


Mount Olive Takes Down Tornado
February 17, 2012 Mount Olive Takes Down Tornado
Tornado Drop Pair in Final Day
February 11, 2012 Tornado Drop Pair in Final Day