Six Named to Cross Country Academic All-Conference Team

Six Named to Cross Country Academic All-Conference Team
King Tornado Cross Country placed a league-high six student-athletes on the Academic All-Conference Team, as announced by the league on Thursday.

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Conference Carolinas is proud announced the 2012 Men's and Women's Cross Country Academic All-Conference award winners on Thursday. Six members of the King Tornado men's and women's teams were named to the honor after surpassing the requirements for the award. League member institutions stress the role of "Academics and Athletics Working Together" and each sport's Academic All-Conference award winners exemplify this continued league-wide commitment.  

King placed six on the Academic All-Conference Team, tied for most in the conference with Lees-McRae. On the list were four members of the women's team and two on the men's side. Danielle Beauvais, Evan Ferrell, Kendra Sokol, and Hannah Witt represented the Lady Tornado while Taylor Dix and Spencer Frantom represented the men's team.

The complete list of individuals named to the Academic All-Conference Team is listed below.

Frantom, a junior from Morristown, Tenn., has paced the men's team all season long having registered the lowest time in every event but one this season. In three 8k events this season, Frantom put forth his best time at the UNC-Charlotte Invitational in which he placed 40th of over 240 runners and was later named Conference Carolinas Cross Country Runner of the Week for that performance.

After Hannah Witt went down with a foot injury, Kendra Sokol (Kingsport, Tenn.) and Evan Ferrell (Richlands, Va.) have both tackled the task of carrying the team the rest of the way. Ferrell and Sokol finished third and fourth, respectively, at the Pre-Conference Championship meet two weeks ago just seconds apart. Ferrell set a new 6k personal record at the Virginia Tech Invitational on Sept. 14 (23:57.62) while Sokol was the top finished both at that meet and the ensuing UNC-Charlotte Invitational on Sept. 28.

The 2012 Conference Carolinas Men's and Women's Cross Country Academic All-Conference representatives have been awarded to the following junior and senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution that have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.


Women's Cross Country 
Academic All-Conference Team

Devan Williams, Coker
Shannon Bishop, Converse
Kari Sell, Erskine
Rachel Whitmire, Erskine
Danielle Beauvais, King
Evan Ferrell, King
Kendra Sokol, King
Hannah Witt, King

Lindsey Bush, Lees-McRae
Conthia Lehner, Lees-McRae
Heather Peterman, Lees-McRae
Christina Jordan, Mount Olive
Chelsea Long, Mount Olive
Amber Thompson, Mount Olive
Ansley Boltin, North Greenville
Jill Forthaus, North Greenville


Men's Cross Country 
Academic All-Conference Team

Darren Balkey, Belmont Abbey
Tim Gill, Belmont Abbey
Thad Sulek, Coker
Taylor Dix, King
Spencer Frantom, King

Zachary Cummings, Lees-McRae
Charles King, Lees-McRae
Jared Lupton, Lees-McRae
Philip Cook, Limestone
Michael Cherry, Mount Olive
Erasmo Ordonez, Mount Olive
Andrew Mosteller, North Greenville
Kyle Roberts, North Greenville
Joseph Sutlive, Pfeiffer