King student-athletes earn academic all-conference honors

King student-athletes earn academic all-conference honors

BRISTOL, Tenn. – As we near the end of the soccer season, awards start to be handed out, and 10 King University soccer players were recognized by Conference Carolinas. Six men's players were named to the academic all-conference team while four women earned the distinction.

On the men's side, Luis Alonso (3.77 GPA), Zachary Clark (3.57 GPA), Thomas Dube (3.27 GPA), Peter Griffith (3.68 GPA), Kendale Liburd (3.59 GPA), and Eric Wilkening  (3.73 GPA) all were named to the academic all-conference team. Liburd and Dube are both tied for second on the team with two goals apiece while Wilkening leads the team with two assists. Clark and Griffith have anchored the defense for the Tornado all season while Alonso has recorded three shots in seven games.

For the women, Anna Cozart, Bekah Ramstack, Kaitlin Robinson and Casey Shanklin all earned the distinction of academic all-conference. Cozart carries a 3.85 GPA and has made one start in six appearances this season. The trio of Ramstack, Robinson and Shanklin all have dished out one assist each this season. Ramstack has a GPA of 3.36 and anchors the defense while Robinson has a 3.74 GPA. Shanklin rounds out this group with a 3.89 GPA.

The 2013 Conference Carolinas Men's & Women's Soccer Academic All-Conference representatives have been awarded to the following junior and senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution that have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.

The King women have two matches left this season, first a road contest at Converse College tonight at 5:00 p.m., and then a home game with Mount Olive College on Saturday at 1:00 p.m. The men also host Mount Olive on Saturday with kickoff scheduled for 3:00 p.m. It is also senior day at Parks Field on Saturday.

Women's Soccer

Amber Brush, Barton

Kasey Bryzewski, Barton

Adrianna Jimenez, Barton

Ashley Mahoney, Barton

Meredith Sharpe, Barton

Meagan Gitchell, Belmont Abbey

Hannah Kohls, Belmont Abbey

Melissa Pereira, Belmont Abbey

Montana Rindahl, Belmont Abbey

Brooke Barr, Converse

Samantha Lockman, Converse

Katherine Busbee, Erskine

Cate Cardinale, Erskine

Rachel Mitchell, Erskine

Ashley Reeves, Erskine

Anna Cozart, King

Rebekah Ramstack, King

Kaitlin Robinson, King

Casey Shanklin, King

Kathryn Briggs, Lees-McRae

Kaitlyn Kerrigan, Lees-McRae

Meagan Thornton, Lees-McRae

Taylor Padgett, Limestone

Gabriella Reid, Limestone

Macy Simpson, Limestone

Helen Winterburn, Limestone

Jordyn Koerner, Mount Olive

Elvia Rodriguez, Mount Olive

Damilia Brooks, Mount Olive

Ansley Dobbs, North Greenville

Alexandria Domingo, North Greenville

Alexandria Forthaus, North Greenville

Franki Jumper, North Greenville

Taylor Kelley, North Greenville

Erin McLure, North Greenville

Marguerite Motsinger, North Greenville

Kayla Rodriguiz, Pfeiffer

Leticia Patino, Pfeiffer

Mandi Roan, Pfeiffer

Sarah Yates, Pfeiffer

Men's Soccer

Archer Bane, Barton

Ricardo Oliveira, Barton

Patrick Schultze,  Barton

Yasily Yakimkin, Barton

Max Becker, Belmont Abbey

Lucas Campoy, Belmont Abbey

Manolo Garcia-Oronez, Belmont Abbey

Nick Obermeyer, Belmont Abbey

Brendan Vickers, Belmont Abbey

Daniel Beaty, Erskine

Roberto De La Vina, Erskine

Micah Burklin, Erskine

Trevor Moreland, Erskine

Kurt Widenhouse, Erskine

Luis Alonso, King

Zachery Clark, King

Thomas Dube, King

Peter Griffith, King

Kendale Liburd, King

Eric Wilkening, King

Scott Alford, Lees-McRae

Andrew Shoemaker, Lees-McRae

James Smith, Lees-McRae

Ryan Gillespie, Lees-McRae

Kevin Bond, Limestone

Rafael Ferla, Limestone

Laurence Mahon, Limestone

Thomas McCready, Limestone

Thomas Metzemaekers, Limestone

Mark Mitchell, Limestone

Tanner Tolston, Mount Olive

Jonathan Coelho, North Greenville

Andrew Duncan, North Greenville

William Harrison, North Greenville

Andrew Kyle, North Greenville

Cameron Porter, North Greenville

Alex Redding, North Greenville

Corey Tillinghast, North Greenville

Chandler Ligas, Pfeiffer

Lukas Janes, Pfeiffer

Seth Dey, Pfeiffer

Duffy signs seven for 2014
February 12, 2014 Duffy signs seven for 2014
Lees-McRae defeats King 2-0
October 12, 2013 Lees-McRae defeats King 2-0
Tornado fall to Emmanuel 3-1
September 14, 2013 Tornado fall to Emmanuel 3-1
Concord tops King 1-0
September 11, 2013 Concord tops King 1-0