Women's Volleyball


Tornado Trio Named to All-Conference Team

Tornado Trio Named to All-Conference Team
BRISTOL, Tenn. – Conference Carolinas announced its 2011 Women's Volleyball postseason honors, earlier today. The list featured three King Tornado players named to the First and Second All-Conference teams including Ashley Pittman, Sarah Van Goethem and Shannon Earwood.

Ashley Pittman (Norris, Tenn.) was fittingly named to the Conference Carolinas All-Conference First Team on the same day that she helped lead her team from two games down to a come-from-behind 3-2 victory over Mount Olive. Her seven kills in the fifth frame and 17 in all on Tuesday night to help fuel the Tornado to a tournament semifinal appearance against Lees-McRae this Friday in Banner Elk, North Carolinas.

Pittman led the league in total kills (478) and was second in kills during conference play (256) finishing behind Mount Olive's Carly White by just seven at season's end. She finished third in overall kills per set (3.71) and fourth in category during conference play (3.66). She finished the season hitting at a .244 mark, chipped in 83 digs and made 36 total blocks (8 solo) during the regular season.

Sarah Van Goethem (Aurora, Colo.) finished the year with 306 overall kills, good for 11th in Conference Carolinas and finished inside the top-10 in kills during league play with 197. She finished within the top-10 in kills per set both overall (3.09) and in conference games (3.23) and hit at a .260 clip in league action. She tallied 12 double-double performances during the regular season and added her 13th against Mount Olive (Oct. 8) with 16 kills and 11 digs. She recorded a season-high 22 kills against North Greenville in four sets on Nov. 2 where she hit .426 in the match.

Shannon Earwood (Carson City, Nev.) has quietly been one of King's most valuable players in a variety of areas. She ended the regular season leading all Conference Carolinas setters in both overall assists (1,155) and conference-only assists (658). She averaged 9.47 assists per set, good for third overall. Her 9.82 assists per set tabbed her for second-most in league play.

Earwood did not only set up others, like Pittman and Van Goethem, for success but also was an offensive threat herself. She tallied 106 kills this year, second-most among conference setters and hit at a .276 rate on 283 attempts. She tallied 31 service aces, tied for third-most on the team, and 40 total blocks (5 solo).

King put the third-most student-athletes on one of the three All-Conference teams. Erskine and West Division Champion Lees-McRae each put four players on the All-Conference squad.

The honors given to Pittman and Van Goethem add to their seasonal accolades after the pair was named to the 2011 Academic All-Conference Team earlier this week by Conference Carolinas. They were part of five Tornado player named to the list that achieved 3.25 or better grade point averages this academic year.

King will play the Lees-McRae Bobcats this Friday (Oct. 11) in Banner Elk, N.C. in the semifinal round of the 2011 Conference Carolinas Women's Volleyball Tournament. First service is set for 6:30 p.m. from the Williams Physical Education Center. Live stats and video of the match will be provided by the Lees-McRae Athletic Department.

Complete award listings are below.



Player of the Year
Sandra Campbell, Erskine

Co-Freshman of the Year
Melissa Cochran, Barton
Sariah Suryadevara, Lees-McRae 

Coach of the Year
Wes Schneider, Lees-McRae

All-Conference 1st-Team
Sandra Campbell, Erskine
Megan Epperson, Lees-McRae
Ashley Pittman, King
Carly White, Mount Olive
Taylor Clendenin, Lees-McRae
Sariah Suryadevara, Lees-McRae
Megan Mitchell, Lees-McRae 

All-Conference 2nd-Team
Brittany Harvey, Queens
Kaitlyn Pierce, North Greenville
Sarah Van Goethem, King
Angela Jubb, Belmont Abbey
Liz Massey, Erskine
Rebecca Kerrison, Limestone
Shannon Earwood, King

All-Conference 3rd-Team
Larz Chabra, Erskine
Jamie Murray, Erskine
Taylor Willis, Coker
Kati Wood, Barton
Amanda Grandy, Barton

East Division Regular Season Champions
Queens University of Charlotte

West Division Regular Season Champions
Lees-McRae College