Women's Cross Country


Six Tornado runners named Academic All-Conference

Six Tornado runners named Academic All-Conference

BRISTOL, Tenn. – The Conference Carolinas office announced its cross country academic all-conference teams on Tuesday morning, and King University was well represented. Six King University student-athletes were named to the squads, the second-most in the conference behind North Greenville University's seven.

Senior women's runner Evan Ferrell headlines the list of Tornado athletes named to the team with a perfect 4.0 total GPA. She has run in the second position during every race for the Tornado this season and set a personal record time at the Royal Cross Country Challenge on October 11 in Charlotte, N.C. with a time of 19:00.1, the sixth-fastest time in school history. Seniors Kendra Sokol and Eliza Parker joined Ferrell on the academic all-conference team with GPAs of 3.84 and 3.70, respectively. Sokol has been King's third runner across the line in every meet while Parker is King's No. 4 runner. Both joined Ferrell in setting personal records at the Royal Cross Country Challenge.

The Tornado also had three student-athletes named to the men's team. Senior Taylor Dix had the highest GPA among the King runners selected to the team at 3.68 and ran a season-best 27:50.5 in Charlotte. Dickson Kurgat, a junior No. 2 runner who recently ran the sixth-fastest time in school history, earned a selection with a 3.37 GPA. Senior Spencer Frantom, the Tornado's top runner, rounded out the men's selections from King with GPA of 3.28 and holds the record for the fastest time in school history.

The 2013 Conference Carolinas Men's & Women's Cross Country Academic All-Conference teams are comprised of junior and senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution and have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athlete's cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.

Women's Cross Country Academic All-Conference Team


Angel Pearsall, Barton

Ericka Skinner, Barton

Chelsea Ball, Erskine

Marlee Rhode, Erskine

Rachel Whitmire, Erskine

Mary Ferrell, King

Eliza Parker, King

Kendra Sokol, King

Heather Peterman, Lees-McRae

Sarah Monday   , Lees-McRae

Claire Huminski, Limestone

Michelle Lackey, Limestone

Brittany Lawson, Limestone

Megan Bucek, Mount Olive

Christina Jordan, Mount Olive

Chelsea Dyson, North Greenville

Haley Hardwick, North Greenville

Kaelin Kinnamen, North Greenville

Kelly Knutson, North Greenville

Corinne Schmidt, North Greenville

Nnennaya Ubabuike, Pfeiffer


Men's Cross Country Academic All-Conference Team


Austin Edmonds, Barton

Darren Balkey, Belmont Abbey

Tim Gill, Belmont Abbey

Taylor Dix, King

Spencer Frantom, King

Dickson Kurgat, King

Tyler Dunn, Lees-McRae

Tristan Perignon, Limestone

Joseph Smith, Limestone

Michael Cherry, Mount Olive

Sebastian Diebel, Mount Olive

Jordan Willett, Mount Olive

Ben Wade, North Greenville

Brett Morley, North Greenville